Kit Reveal, New Signing and Dong Admitting he was to Blame?

Well Blues certainly like to keep people on there toes, early Saturday I was sat in the garden with my pal Parm and we were literally discussing when the kit would be revealed and what we’d like to (Not) see on it. The kit was revealed and literally the two things we said we hoped wouldn’t feature on the kit, a collar and white sleeves, were right there.

I’m not particularly about to complain about the kit because as basic as it is (I mean, even for Nike) it doesn’t particularly make a difference, what really matters is the players that wear the shirt and the performances they put in. Then came the next announcement, Blues had landed their first signing so any niggling doubts the kit created were momentarily paused as the rumours flew around on social media.

The reaction to the announcement of George Friend, a veteran defender who Blues brought in on a free, then came and it’s fair to say it was mixed. I’ve seen fans talk about the experience Friend brings and I’d have to agree, he is experienced, then came those who weren’t happy with the signing. It’s fair to say Friend is probably past his best but it wouldn’t be the first time Blues have signed a player like this and then got the absolute best out of them.

I’m not going to rave about the signing, it was a bit disappointing, but it shows it’s not just all about the young players and is a sturdy solution to our leaky defence problem. I’m sure it’s a signing that will be useful for Blues so I’m not going to complain but what about the Jude money?

I think the club would be foolish to squander the money they’ve received, especially with FFP causing clubs headaches left, right and centre. However we do need to see some of that money invested in the squad and cue Dong.

Honestly, I never thought I’d see an admission from the man himself that he may have caused one or two problems at the club. Although he did then try to just pass it off as the craziness at the club, which I suppose has a bit of truth to it, he even seemed to suggest he’d be letting Karanka have more freedom in terms of signings and the team itself.

I suspect Aitor was the man Dong really wanted and has been for some time which is why he’s going to be granted more free reign that some of his predecessors. I really hope it can work. Especially if we’re going to be bringing Jude back in three years when we’re in the Champions League!

Leave a comment