Transfer Round Up

This week’s instalment of the Transfer Round Up is still quiet, I had hoped we’d get a bit more business done before the season kicks off but I’m not sure there’ll be many more recruits now as it does seem to have fallen very silent in the rumour mill.

Blues have been linked with just two players in the last week, Dwight Gale from Newcastle and Hannibal Mejbri from Man United. Two players that could bring a bit more quality to the team and it seems Mejbri at least is on the cards for a loan move out this season and with Blues having linked up with United before through contacts Gardner made it’s not beyond the realms of possibility that we will be able to land Mejbri as we did with Chong. I would however be concerned if we’re looking to pay wages as high as we allegedly did with Chong so I’d rather see a deal that works for Blues.

Dwight Gale has fallen out of favour at Newcastle and with the current revolution ongoing there following Saudi ownership. Gale is a striker and with speculation still surrounding Juke could be a signing that replaces the big man and links up with Hogan and Deeney. I’m not overly convinced that this one is going to happen though.

In terms of players out Keyendrah Simmonds and Kyle Hurst are the two that I’ve seen on the cards. Both are coming through the youth ranks and Simmonds is being eyed up by both Sheffield Wednesday and MK Dons while Hurst has trained with Doncaster and looks set for a move there. They’re two departures that won’t massively hurt the squad but as I keep saying, if a fee is paid for either of them I want to see that reinvested into the squad.

Finally I thought I’d look at a rumour that came out weeks ago but that will likely feature once again with Maxi Lopez and Paul Richardson now a step closer to taking over the club, Diego Costa. Now as a free agent and his relationship with Lopez could well work in the favour of giving the rumour a bit more legs but I seriously doubt we’ll be seeing Costa pulling on a Blues shirt and to be honest, given his age, is it a signing of a big name that is a shadow of their former selves or is it a shrewd move for a player that has shown they can score goals over the years? I think this one is quite unlikely but only time will tell.

Leave a comment