Hogwash Blended Malt Scotch Whisky

So, at the start of the year I decided to introduce a section called The Whisky Corner which would see me bring you news and whisky reviews then haven’t gotten round to reviewing any. I managed to pick a bottle up this week and so the first of my Whisky reviews is Aldi’s Hogwash a blended Malt Scotch that comes in at an impressive £14.99 for a 70cl bottle.

20181013_1249291190184311.jpg

The bottle itself caught my eye as it is similar to Monkey Shoulder (Which I still need to try), in shape at least, and the writing itself was almost magical with the copper outline and black font. I think though it’s a stretch to link it to Harry Potter that’s for sure.

The whisky was a bright golden colour once poured and had a sweet aroma with a strong oak smell, no doubt from the Hogs Head Barrel’s used, with a hint of almost custard. The taste was smooth, there was no kick really it was certainly something you’d sink a few of before even realising you were halfway through the bottle although there is a bite at the end once you’ve made it into the bottle.

For me this was a very nice whisky, potentially more of an everyday whisky or a starter dram. The price is unmatchable for it’s quality and having sunk a fair bit the other day I can assure you it’s a nice buzz with minimal hangover, for me this is a strong value contender and I’m giving it a 3/5.

20181015_210619-2137195861.jpg

Leave a comment